Back to top

Contract management is a continuous procurement process that ensures suppliers adhere to their agreed contractual obligations along with negotiating any future changes that need to take place. Contract management is a major activity in most of the development projects in Nepal. In fact, almost about three fourth of the development budget is spent on procurement and this is even higher in the case of construction projects. Hence, the success of development activities largely relies on effective contract management to a large extent.
ADB’s Nepal Country Partnership Strategy has emphasized the need for improvement of portfolio performance of projects funded by it. There is an urgent need to develop capacity in key agencies and to meet an immediate requirement for better contract management in those agencies.
In this regard, the training program on contract management has been designed to impart contract management-related knowledge and skills to the participants to improve portfolio performance.
Course Aim
The aim of this course is to enhance the contract management knowledge and skills of the participants from ADB-assisted projects in Nepal.
Objectives of the Course
At the end of this training program, participants are expected to be able to:
• understand the legal procedures, principles and practice of contract management;
• conduct contract management activities; and
• make claims and settle disputes.
Course Contents
The training course will be organized to deliver the following contents:
• GCC provisions
• Variation order, rate revision, extension of time and liquidated damage
• Price adjustment
• Contract management activities
• Contract termination, claims and disputes
Training Approach and Methodology
Adult learning principles will be used to facilitate the learning of the participants. Particularly, instruction techniques such as interactive lecture, exercises, plenary discussions will be used to enhance participants' learning.

Participants List (29)


S.N Participants Name 
1 Ashis Thapa Magar
2 Bhanubhakta Baral
3 Bisendra Kumar Yadav
4 Bishow KC
5 Bishwa Nath Paudel
6 Chandra Dev Bhatta
7 Gayatri Kumari Paudel
8 Kalamuddin Ansari
9 Kulanand Chaudhary
10 Laxmi Prasad Bhandari 
11 Madan Kumar Ale Magar
12 Modanath Timsina 
13 Narayan Panthi 
14 Narendra KC Khadka
15 Pawan chand
16 Roshan Kasula
17 Sabin Wagle
18 Sagar Marasini
19 Sampat Neupane
20 Satish Subedi
21 Shailendra Khatri
22 Shambhu Kumar Sah
23 Shivu Khatri
24 Sudip Rijal
25 Tilak Prasad Panday
26 Uddhav Prasad Bhattarai
27 Ujwal Chaulagain
28 Yagendra Dharala
29 Yukmani Bhattarai